772 Followers
30 Following
judithdcollins

JDCMustReadBooks

An online marketing consultant, an avid reader of  400 + books a year. Professional reader, reviewer, and blogger.  Enjoy ARCs and new releases. 

 

 

 

The Other Girl

The Other Girl - Erica Spindler

By: Erica Spindler

ISBN: 9781250083654

Publisher: St. Martin's Press 

Publication Date: 8/22/2017 

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 5 Stars +

 
Loved! 5 Stars +. Set in a small southern Louisiana town of Harmony—Erica Spindler continues to raise the bar with her latest: THE OTHER GIRL, following (2015) The First Wife. 

A chilling and "unputdownable” taut crime suspense thriller (her best yet)! A clever blending of past and present with masterful twists. 

Officer Miranda Radar has had a difficult journey in life. In 2002, at fifteen years old, she was called, “Randi” (from the wrong side of the tracks). She was caught in a crime and no one believed her. After all, she had her own problems with her dysfunctional family: mom, brothers, dead beat dad, and the law. 

She no longer is this scared fifteen-year-old girl. The one caught with possession of pot, shoplifting, drinking, and truancy. However, can she run away from her past? Has it caught up with her or did she just move on? 

Who was her tormentor from that summer fourteen years ago? The beautiful monster in the Alabama ball cap. The guy who picked her up on the side of the road. Supposedly sent by her brother. She had escaped and left for help. She had to rescue "the other girl." 

What happened to the girl (Cathy) who was left behind after the rape and torture? The one she promised to save. She went for help and no one believed her? 

What if she had been a girl who did not lie. One who was cautious instead of reckless. The kind of person people believed. Back then no one would believe her. The girl could have been saved. 

Clint Wheeler the cop. His voice still haunts her. He thought she was a liar. 

Who was the monster who populated her nightmares? He was the reason she became a cop. They would have to believe her now. 

Presently, years later she and her partner, Jake (friend, partner, and possibly more) of two and half years are called to investigate a brutal crime. A college professor. A murder. A murder of hatred and rage?

Richard Stark. Handsome, single, charming, and smart. He was also writing a novel. A dominatrix and the lives of her clients. A sexual predator? Abuses women. He liked his women immobilized and unwilling.

President Ian Stark (father) is quite anxious to protect the school’s reputation. What is he hiding? A powerful and rich man. How many people does he control and have in his back pocket?

Miranda promised herself back then she would escape to California and never look back. Escape her family and every memory of the God-forsaken place. The girl who had done time. She had not belonged and not sure she still does. She had to let the past go. She was almost thirty years old. 

However, she may have to visit her painful past in order to find clues to save herself in the present. 

A clipping was found. About Miranda from that summer years ago was found the old. A coincidence? How could her fingerprints be found at the scene? Why would her past abductor keep this clipping, or was it planted? 

She did not know Stark and had never met him. Yet they had found her prints at the scene and the news clipping about her?

A sexual predator who had hurt an untold number of women and gotten away with his crimes for years . . . until now. 
 



Someone had to be setting her up. 

No one believed her back then. Will they believe her now? Her own mom never defended her, nor her brother. 

What happened to the Jane Doe years ago? The missing girl?

Miranda had to protect herself from whoever was setting her up. She was a good cop. Now a box. A key. 

However, who could she trust? 

Was the person who killed evil Richard, the who planted her fingerprints at the scene? 

Is someone out for revenge and is she the target? 

With pressure from her Chief — her job is to find the killer, not to vilify the victim. Is she in jeopardy of losing her badge? Everyone thinks she is losing it. She thinks Richard Stark is the perp, not the victim. 

Now Wheeler is found dead. Miranda (Randi) had spent six months in juvie because of this Officer, and now dead. Fingers are pointing at her. Does she have a score to settle, or is it someone trying to take her down? 

Will she have an ally or champion this time, or will it be just like fourteen years ago? 

Jam-packed full of dark secrets and a twisty story that never stops . . . and a sprinkle of romantic suspense. Hooked from the first page to the explosive conclusion – Spindler keeps readers glued to the pages, and a kick ass leading lady, Miranda. (hope we see more of her in the future). 

With clues from the past to present, a complex whodunit mystery thriller which will keep you guessing. 

Fans of Lisa Gardner, Sandra Brown, Chevy Stevens, and Karin Slaughter will devour fast-paced THE OTHER GIRL. 

In addition to the reading copy, also purchased the audiobook and wow, Tavia Gilbert delivers a perfect voice for Spindler’s characters in this small dark town of secrets and corruption. 

Move this one to the top of your list!

A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an early reading copy. 

JDCMustReadBooks
 
 
 

 

Source: http://www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2017/04/13/The-Other-Girl