755 Followers
31 Following
judithdcollins

JDCMustReadBooks

An online marketing consultant, an avid reader of  400 + books a year. Professional reader, reviewer, and blogger.  Enjoy ARCs and new releases. 

 

 

 

Currently reading

The One Peaceful World Cookbook: Over 150 Vegan, Macrobiotic Recipes for Vibrant Health and Happiness
Alex Jack, Sachi Kato
Lie to Me: A Fast-Paced Psychological Thriller
J.T. Ellison
Lightning Men: A Novel
Thomas Mullen

One Less Problem Without You

One Less Problem Without You: A Novel - Beth Harbison

By:  Beth Harbison

ISBN: 9781250043825

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Publication Date:  7/26/2016 

Format: Hardcover 

My Rating: 4 Stars 

 

A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Beth Harbison returns following If I Could Turn Back Time(2015) with ONE LESS PROBLEM WITHOUT YOU — three women whose lives are at a crossroads, connected by one man, an evil monster.

A contemporary domestic suspense with a little grit, danger, some magic, courage, new friendships, and some special cosmos! Hat’s off to St. Martin’s Press and Harbison for another chic and stunning cover! -the best.

Three women who would rather "be lonely alone, than lonely in love."

Diana Tiesman is married to Leif, a man with two personalities. He is abusive, handsome, young, rich, charming, selfish, sadistic and unfaithful to his wife. A wife who knows she is in an unhealthy relationship, and cannot seem to break free of this man. Addiction.

For seven years she has tried to the perfect wife. From sex, home, cooking, however, he is unfaithful and now she finds herself sneaking in the bathroom to check his phone and the sluts he is texting. He was like a bad addiction. She needed an elixir. The perfect nightcap. She has no money to leave and thinks of Prinny. She has nowhere to go. Her parents were gone and she was estranged from her sister

What about killing her husband? (Sleeping With the Enemy).Being with him was killing her. She would rather die than go through this anymore. She had two options.

She turns to her sister-in-law, Prinny. Ending up a Cosmos, a cute shop in Washington, DC that sells crystals, potions, candles and lots of hope. Also some special teas, herbs, and extra special yummy cocktails.

The owner Prinny— is in love with her married lawyer, Alex and wants to forget him. She had to settle for her time with him being business related. She needed financial independence. She is also the step-sister of wicked older step-brother, Leif. She knows all too well her brother’s abusive behavior.

Leif was powerful. He was doing everything he could to sabotage her inheritance, and her life. This is why she opened Cosmos. She needed to have a legitimate business, expenses, a storefront so her Leif couldn’t accuse her of being incompetent.

Chelsea works part-time at Cosmos, with a desire to be an actress. However, she wonders if her dreams will ever be a reality as far as her career or love. Even though she could read cards and she could definitely read people. She was no psychic, but she was extremely good at reading voices, gestures, and choices.

“When one’s love life is unsatisfying, some acquires things to make up for it. Sometimes the things are lovers, sometimes the things are children, but most of the time things are things.”

Alternating from past (7-25 yrs, ago) to the present we hear about Lief Tiesman (with Diane and with Pinny). With a plan of revenge, some spicy sweet kava, wine, potent herbs, cocktails, magic, a booming new business, girl power, and three determined quirky women you will root for.

A perfect beach read, Beth combines her wit and a little grit and mystery crossing over to the dark side (hope to see more of this). Harbison would be a great domestic suspense, chick-grip-noir writer), which is so popular today. For fans of Paul Treick Deboard, Susan Crawford, and Paula Daly.

Gals, you will love the Cosmo chic cover, three gals whose lives connect, a bad guy, and "Diana’s Drinks" with 30-yummy cocktail recipes included at the end of the book. Need I say more?

JDCMustReadBooks

 

Available in Paperback June, 2016

 

Source: http://www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/#!One-Less-Problem-Without-You/cmoa/5792c17c0cf2fc65e324bb8d