772 Followers
30 Following
judithdcollins

JDCMustReadBooks

An online marketing consultant, an avid reader of  400 + books a year. Professional reader, reviewer, and blogger.  Enjoy ARCs and new releases. 

 

 

 

The First Time She Drowned

The First Time She Drowned - Kerry Kletter
Narrator: Jorjeana Marie 
ASIN: B01BLPJRN8
Publisher: Listening Library
Publication Date: 3/15/2016 
Format: Audio
My Rating: 5 Stars  
 
Kerry Kletter delivers a powerful contemporary debut--an emotionally haunting tale of darkness and light, THE FIRST TIME SHE DROWNED hypnotic, deftly combining lyrical prose with heartrending subjects--an exploration into the complexities of family, mental illness, abuse, and depression.

Things have not been easy for Cassie O’Malley. Since birth she knows something is not quite right. She tries desperately to seek her mom’s love. An absentee father, and a brother her mom seems to love. Cassie is invisible to her mom. What is wrong between mother and daughter?

Two and half years earlier Cassie’s mom dumped her in a mental institution. At age eighteen, Cassie is able to start her life once again. However, with psychological damage, is she able to start anew, until she uncovers the trauma of her past, she has buried deep inside for protection?

Will the darkness pull her under once again, or will she be strong enough to face her past? Why wouldn’t her mother believe her? Who can she count on?

Once she leaves the institute, she has more issues to face. Slowly the past abuse comes in bits and pieces with the help of therapist. Her past has defined her. The deep rooted fissures in the O’Malley family come to the surface. She has to face the past, memories--love herself, in order to move forward.

Powerfully written, Kletter follows one young woman's journey through heartbreak and loss to courage and resolve, as she searches for the truth.

Superbly crafted combined with suspenseful narrative, THE FIRST TIME SHE DROWNED is a gripping, harrowing study of a troubled mother and daughter relationship, from a remarkable new storyteller.

For fans of Jodi Picoult, T. Greenwood, Julie Buxbaum, and Rochelle B. Weinstein, as well as the YA and adult domestic suspense readers. I listened to the audio book, narrated byJorjeana Marie delivering a spellbinding performance!

If this is a debut, can't wait to see what follows, from this talented author.
Source: http://www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/#!The-First-Time-She-Drowned/cmoa/571199200cf2af49d712523c