754 Followers
31 Following
judithdcollins

JDCMustReadBooks

An online marketing consultant, an avid reader of  400 + books a year. Professional reader, reviewer, and blogger.  Enjoy ARCs and new releases. 

 

 

 

Some Women

Some Women - Emily Liebert
ISBN: 0451471881
Publisher:  Penguin
Publication Date: 4/5/2016
Format: Other
My Rating: 4 Stars 

 

Talented Emily Liebert delivers her charming fifth novel, SOME WOMEN -a contemporary chick-lit of three different strong women, each confronted with a major life-altering changes and decisions.

With honesty, wit, and new friendships, an inspiring book of reinvention--a nice choice for your summer beach bag. (Stunning cover).

Meet Annabel, Piper, and Mackenzie:

Annabel, appears to have it all together. From her twin five year old boys, organization, and a home run with finesse. Until her husband makes the announcement. He is leaving. What the heck?

Piper, is a single mom to her daughter, Fern. She juggles all sorts of things, from a hectic career as a crime report, plus her issues with daughter and new man of her dreams, Todd. Fern’s absentee dad, Max is back—a conflict, pulled between the tension.

Mackenzie, is sharp--married to Trevor, and the heir of a media conglomerate—however, her controlling mother-in-law, Cecilia is pressuring them to start a family. Her marriage may not be strong enough to even support a family unit.

Three unlikely women from different walks of life meet in a barre class (the author is also a certified barre teacher). They become a support group for one another, when meeting after class over coffee.

Pure Barre —a combination of yoga, Pilates, and ballet. Sculpting—and the inspiration for SOME WOMEN. The technique is low-impact, protecting your joints by avoiding any bouncing or jumping. Let me say, Emily you are looking great--it is working!

The concentration involved while taking Pure Barre allows you to block "life" out for the hour, creating the mental benefits similarly obtained by the practice of yoga or meditation. (Something all women need). I do a combination, and find it works much better than jogging, cycling, and running, which can create torture for your body as you age (better for your back & arthritis--which comes with high-impact)--plus better, and faster results.

Pure Barre mantra, “You’re stronger than you think.”

Having read all Emily’s books, she writes of relationships, friendships, motherhood, and marriage—-for the modern contemporary woman,attempting to balance it all-personal and career.

Fans of Sarah Pekkanen, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin will enjoy Emily’s entertaining, honest, and witty style.

Sometimes an escape outside your inner world can bring new insights to your problems--a fresh look at your life; breaking out of your inner, comfortable circle of friends-when you are open to new friendships and experiences--you may learn something.

Source: http://www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/#!Some-Women/cmoa/56abd4220cf2f76605907fc2