772 Followers
30 Following
judithdcollins

JDCMustReadBooks

An online marketing consultant, an avid reader of  400 + books a year. Professional reader, reviewer, and blogger.  Enjoy ARCs and new releases. 

 

 

 

Christmas on 4th Street

Christmas on 4th Street - Susan Mallery

By: Susan Mallery
ISBN: 9780373778997
Publisher: Harlequin
Publication Date: 10/28/2014
Format: Paperback
My Rating: 3 Stars

 

A special thank you to Harlequin and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

 

Susan Mallery's heartwarming Christmas on 4th Street, a contemporary romance of humor, friendship, and family redemption, set in the small eastern California town of Fool’s Gold with two different and engaging characters finding their own way and eventually to one another.

 

Dr. Gabriel Boylan, an Army physician having served tours in both Iraq and Afghanistan and Noelle Perkins, a former lawyer, now The Christmas Attic, a local Christmas store business owner. Two souls with tragedies and troubled past of their own.

 

With not so pleasant memories of his childhood, army medic Gabriel isn't happy about spending the holidays in quaint Fool's Gold, CA, with his family. He is on medical leave, when his soon-to-be-married twin brother invites him, and he reluctantly accepts.

 

Gabriel has seen too much, losing someone very close to him and not able to give his heart nor looking to settle down. Gabriel comes to town for the holiday for a vacation, while recovering from an injury to his hand, while making a plea to his family to try and unite. The last thing he wants is a smiling sweet nice looking blonde.

 

Noelle, has been given a second chance at life and wants to live life to the fullest. She wants to settle down and get married, the opposite of Gabriel. Noelle and Gabriel meet when he is taking care of her friend Felicia's dog, nearly fainting at the sight of blood from the injury on his hand while wondering why this attractive man is in her friend's house. Gabriel ends up helping Noelle out in the store, while things heat up between the two.

 

I have read many of Mallery’s books and series; however, this is my first Fool’s Gold book. It can be read as a standalone for an enjoyable pre-Christmas story to get into the holiday spirit; however, sure fans will want to read them all to learn more about the background of the characters in this charming town.

 

As always, enjoy visiting small towns, especially Christmas shops, as nothing better to get you into the spirit. (Especially when you reside in South Florida where the weather is tropical and sunny). Reminds me of The Highlands in the mountains of NC, where I love to be, snuggled by a roaring fire, in a log cabin with a rocker, snow, and a good book!

 

Fans of Mariah Stewart, Susan Wiggs and Sherryl Woods will enjoy the light read of small town charm of family and friends for a magical Christmas treat.

Source: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1075628827