754 Followers
31 Following
judithdcollins

JDCMustReadBooks

An online marketing consultant, an avid reader of  400 + books a year. Professional reader, reviewer, and blogger.  Enjoy ARCs and new releases. 

 

 

 

Currently reading

Lilac Lane (A Chesapeake Shores Novel)
Sherryl Woods
My Time with God: Renewed in His Presence Daily
Joyce Meyer
A Bella Flora Christmas (Ten Beach Road Novella)
Wendy Wax

What Was Mine

Reblogged from JDCMustReadBooks :
What Was Mine: A Novel - Helen Klein Ross
ISBN: 9781476732350
Publisher: Gallery Books 
Publication Date: 1/5/2016
Format:  Paperback 
My Rating:  5 Stars +  
 
Featured Weekend Read Dec 11-13

A special thank you to Gallery Books and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.  

Helen Klein Ross delivers a “stand-out” emotionally charged tale, a top must read for 2016--- WHAT WAS MINE —A character-driven, compelling exploration—a slow unraveling of lives, motherhood, a downward spiral of events affecting two families, and many lives. An abduction. A Kidnapping.

I loved everything about this book!

What happens in a split-second; a decision, based upon desperation, need, want, and obsession. Two women. Both professionals. A distraction. One baby. Someone loses. Someone gains.

However, a thought-provoking question: For one woman: Are you prepared to live with your choices? For another woman: Can you truly get ever back What Was Mine and Lost? A baby. A daughter. Caught in the middle of two worlds.

Lucy is married, a successful career in the ad world, and wants a baby. After unsuccessful attempts, infertility drugs, and years of trying, nothing seems to be working. Her husband is tired of her obsession and leaves. She wants a baby. So she tries visualizing, by setting up an entire nursery.

She goes to her local IKEA NJ store and sees a baby in a cart. A four-month-old beautiful baby. It seems to be unattended. This may be a sign. A baby for her to rescue. She will pick it up just for a moment. However, the one moment turns into, walking out the door with a baby. In the car, she is overwhelmed with what she has just done.

Too late to take back the baby, she falls in love. She will keep the baby for her own. She gets away with it for twenty years, changing the name, watching the news over the years, and even finding out the identity of the real mother. She keeps to herself and tells everyone she has adopted the baby. She hires a wonderful nanny from China to help take care of daughter, Mia which has a big impact on her life through adulthood. (clever tie in here)

As a single professional, Lucy offers her daughter, Mia the best of art, education, and culture. She does not date or have friends—her world revolves around her daughter.

The biological mother (Marilyn) is guilt ridden, having walked away from the cart on a phone call for work for a minute. Her marriage is destroyed, and she will never get over losing her daughter. Even when she moves, remarries and has another family.

This story is told from the alternating perspectives of Lucy Wakefield (the woman who raises someone else's baby as her own), Mia (the former baby), Mia’s birth mother, Marilyn.

Now, the juicy part (which I thought was a brilliant and clever twist by the author). Lucy is a ghost writer for a book, and wants more. She wants her name on the book with the co-author. Greed. He indeed gives her the wish which turns out to be devastating. At the book signing, I was on pins and needles--suspense, intensity.

Author’s lives are not so private, especially when a thriller book is written about a baby snatching, and the real mother reads it. The biological mother reads all books about baby kidnapping, trying to find out why this happened to her. Of course, there is social media and Facebook.

From this part on readers will be glued to this page-turner! All the secrets come out in the open, leaving behind a pile of devastation.

We hear from different perspectives: Lucy, the biological mother, Marilyn, and later from the daughter when she is grown. A twist with China, the nanny, and the ending was perfect. I could almost see a sequel, to continue with Lucy, Mia, and Marilyn. (especially Lucy)

The author does an outstanding job with keeping things neutral, allowing readers to form their own opinions. You almost feel sympathy for Lucy at times, as well as Mia, and of course Marilyn. Two different women at the end; however, early on, they were similar in many ways. How different Mia's life would have been if raised by the biological mother.

What makes WHAT WAS MINE so spectacular:
• Presentation/Marketing: Ross’ website. I wish every publisher/author would set up a similar page! Perfect. You become invested in the story and its characters, and ideal for book clubs and further discussions.
• Q&A
• What Reviews/Readers Say
• About the Characters (summary of each)
• Places in the Book (summary & photos)
• Research Links
• For Book Clubs

Perfect pacing- the author does not get bogged down or take off in a different direction. Even flow keeping you glued to the pages. I could not put it down. Lots of surprises, mystery, twists, and intriguing psychological suspense. Loved the tie in with China, Wendy Ma, and the thriller book.

Fans of Sarah Pekkanen, Amy Hatvany, and Patti Callahan Henry will enjoy this contemporary fiction, today's career woman, motherhood, and a "not so ordinary " baby kidnapping.

When I requested WHAT WAS MINE, I had no idea what was in store. Highly recommend. An author I will be following! You can tell the author is in the media business --it shows.
Source: http://www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/#!What-Was-Mine/cmoa/55f0e3b10cf23d0fefffeef7