771 Followers
30 Following
judithdcollins

JDCMustReadBooks

An online marketing consultant, an avid reader of  400 + books a year. Professional reader, reviewer, and blogger.  Enjoy ARCs and new releases. 

 

 

 

April's Rain

April's Rain (The Tucker Series Book 3) - David Johnson

By David Johnson

Series: Tucker Series #3
ISBN: 9781477827048
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Publication Date: 12/9/2014
Format: Other
My Rating: 5 Stars

 

A special thank you to Lake Union Publishing and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

APRIL’S RAIN, the third installment in The Tucker Series, by master storyteller, David Johnson --is an explosive, inspiring and emotional reunion of Tucker and her beloved family. After many years of tears, fears and pain, they all come together, different people having faced many tragedies and heartaches, for a heartfelt reunion with tears of joy!

Come inside and sit a while, enjoy some homemade pie, coffee, music, laughter, and some sweet southern stories which will warm your heart. You cannot read just one book, you will find yourself hardly stopping to write a review, before moving on to the next. (I am into Book 4 MARCH ON tonight). I will be so sad when this series ends; however, just heard today another one coming- Yeah!

Having fallen in love with Tucker in Book 1, raising her three grandchildren, in Book 2, the unexpected gift of friendship and gift from Ella, and now in Book 3, when I did not think it could get any better.

APRIL’S RAIN brought more tears than the others. As a reader you are invested in the lives of these lovable and flawed characters— you root for and pray for their well- being, for triumph over tragedy.

Poor Tucker cannot catch a break, with her troubled two younger grandchildren— March has been missing for eight years, and we find in Book 3 where he has been all this time, and it is not pretty. He is lucky to have survived and is now blind. He also has been sent some angels to rescue him, and now fate steps in to reunite him with his long lost sister. Readers will also get to hear from August as Smiley has taken him under his wing as a great dad.

April, now a teen has not been an easy child. She is angry and bitter, and she too has had a rough life. When her life takes yet another downward turn, Tucker once again steps in, this time she plays tough love and sends her to Spirit Lake. At first you will wonder what kind of place is this? However, keep reading, as through the tough times, April will be able to forgive herself and find peace with God and her family. (glad to see Jack stepping in to help).

APRIL'S RAIN crosses many genres, as a strong coming-of-age, ideal for teens and parents, alike, as well as, all the southern, social issues, family drama, suspense, fiction, humor, contemporary, and Christian readers; a book for young and older adults.

What a journey! The last part of the book, kept me glued to my e-reader. Johnson did a bang up job with the animal/human connection, and the setting to pull all the pieces of this powerful story, for a suspenseful yet satisfying ending.

As you can see by my previous reviews, I am so in love with this riveting series. David Johnson’s writing reminds me a little of Charles Martin (my favorite author), with some of his earlier books. He writes Christian fiction, with powerful messages, concentrating on the poor, flawed characters, racial, and human dynamics, set in the southern South Georgia area, similar to the Tennessee area.

Fans of Charles Martin and Ace Collins, will enjoy The Tucker Series with the deep love and connections of their history, friends, roots, southern food, humor, music, hospitality, family, and God’s power to heal and forgive, for some wisdom, self-discovery and old fashioned life lessons.

Will not mention Madea again, as I am aware I have mentioned it in the two previous reviews; however, every time I read Tucker's funny dialogue, cannot help but think of her; would love to see these two together.

Once again, David Johnson, a winner! I would love to give Tucker and Smiley, a big hug as can see them sitting around the table in her mobile home laughing and crying, enjoying the reuniting of lost souls!

 

My Reviews:

TUCKER'S WAY 

AN UNEXPECTED FROST

APRIL'S RAIN

MARCH ON (Currently Reading)  

 

 

 

 

Source: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1123300122